Hens and rooster sick sealed eyes and sneezing

Karinspinn

In the Brooder
Sep 22, 2017
So I just bought for new hens from a poultry store. I'm new at keeping chickens so I guess I didn't know what to look for if they were sick or not, as soon as I got home and let them out they couldn't really walk and one it's bone is sticking out from it's wing. The next day I noticed that one of the girls was sneezing and had mucus dripping out of her nostrils. They have been separated from my original clock but my original flock is free range so my rooster picked it up now. I separated the worst hen from the other hens I bought and now her eye is swollen and she still has mucus. My rooster now has a sealed eye and has no interest in food or water. Please help I have no idea what I should do or what is going on with the poor baby's. I purchase vetrx and gave them some yogurt today and it doesn't really seem to be helping. Should I purchase an antibiotic now?

How long have you had them?

Photos of the bone sticking out from the wing would be helpful. If you have it - a video of the walking as well.

How old are they?

I'm sorry you are having so much trouble. It sounds like you are dealing with a contagious respiratory disease. Separate your rooster, but it sounds like your whole flock has been exposed to whatever you have - so technically you would want to consider all of the birds you have as carriers. If possible have some testing done - it may be best to sacrifice the sickest "new hen" and send her for necropsy/testing at your state lab.

Infectious Bronchitis, Mycoplasma, Infectious Coryza and ILT are some of the most common illnesses. The not being able to walk is very concerning - you may be dealing with Marek's along with a secondary respiratory illness.