1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hens are moving the fake eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Goshen, Apr 1, 2009.

1. Goshen

Goshen Out Of The Brooder

Feb 11, 2009
    Hollywood, SC
    I am new to raising chickens and find the following pretty interesting.

Someone told me to place a golf ball in the nest to encourage the hens to lay there. Well, I have two nest boxes, side by side with a short divider between them. I placed a golf ball in each nest. Everyday when I checked for eggs I found 2 or 3 eggs and both golf balls in the same nest. The hens only seem to lay in the one nest. I thought my wife was moving the golf ball into that box. When I asked her about it she said she thought I was moving it.

Now this went on for several days and I decided to move both golf balls into the nest that is never used. I thought this might encourage the hens to lay in the other box. But the hens just moved both golf balls back into their favorite nest and continue to lay their eggs there.

We only have three hens laying so they really only need one nest box, but its interesting to me that the hens are so partial to that one nest.

Goshen

Last edited: Apr 1, 2009
  2. eggchel

eggchel Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Dec 26, 2006
    Both Coasts
    They often have a favorite nest, and yes, they "steal" golf balls just like they were the real things.

chel

3. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    They'll do that.

4. melissastraka

melissastraka Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2009
    Hoquiam, WA
    they were bored and wanted to keep you guessing [​IMG]

5. katrinag

katrinag Chillin' With My Peeps