Hens brooding together question

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by emount, Feb 5, 2017.

1. emount

emount Out Of The Brooder

Jun 27, 2016
    NS Canada
    This is my first time with broody hens.

I have a cochin that went broody on Feb 1. I let her keep 9 eggs from feb 1-2. She was in a large coop with 7 other hens and a Rooster. All the hens like to use the same nest box, so when she got up in the morning to eat, they would go in and lay eggs or they would go in with her. She is not aggressive. I can pick her up and take her off the eggs, and she doesn't react at all. If she wanted to go back on the nest but another chicken was in there, then she would just sit on the floor outside of the box.

3 of her eggs got smashed and two of them I found broken at the other end of the coop this morning.

Another of my chickens seems to have gone broody as well and is now sitting on the eggs with the cochin. She's more aggressive and squawks at me if I put my hand in.

I have a smaller coop 4x4', where I keep a one-legged hen with a companion, because the rooster is too hard on her. I have moved the nest box into the small house with just the one-legged hen and the two broodies. I would like to hatch more than 6 eggs, but this is day 4/5. If I put more eggs in and some hatch, will the other hen stay sitting on the new eggs until they hatch? I don't think it's likely that she would go to a different box, so they'd be sharing all the eggs.

My questions: Should I just leave them with the 6 eggs and wait until another hen goes broody to hatch more?

If I move the second hen back to the big coop with her own eggs in an unfamiliar nest box, do you think she would stay broody?

If I'm going to move one, moving the cochin would probably be better, because she seems much more determined to hatch eggs than the other one.

Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
  2. red horse ranch

red horse ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2014
    Buffalo Wyoming