1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hens flying over the fence.

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Wheeler Farms Chickens, Nov 2, 2011.

1. Wheeler Farms Chickens

Wheeler Farms Chickens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 1, 2011
    Piedmont, South Dakota
    My hens have just started flying over the fence into the neighbors yard. I dont want to confine them to their run because I have a big back yard for them to forage in. Any suggestions?

2. chickmashnoon

chickmashnoon Chillin' With My Peeps

clip their wings. It will keep them from flying over the fence. or get a taller fence [​IMG]

3. Wheeler Farms Chickens

Wheeler Farms Chickens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 1, 2011
    Piedmont, South Dakota
    I figured, but I have never done it before. They are about 17 weeks old.

4. Ksane

Ksane Overrun With Chickens

Jun 21, 2011
    Oklahoma
    There's instructions all over the web on wing clipping. Just do 1 side though, not both. That throws them off balance if they try to fly. Sometimes if you clip both wings feathers they can flap real hard and still get over a fence. You'll have to repeat it when they molt and grow their next set of feathers.

5. Beekissed

Beekissed True BYC Addict

Unless you have a 6 ft. or higher fence they will still go over...even with clipped wings. They don't actually fly over a fence but they do hop up onto the top and then drop down on the other side. Sometimes they will still hop up onto a 6 ft. fence top...depends on the bird and how lightweight it is.

It's the hopping up that you can prevent if you place your fencing material about 6-8 in. above any solid surface like gates, fence posts, fence tops. You can even string some individual wires across those areas that deflect the bird when it hops up to the surface.