Hens humming?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by WildBillHicks, Jul 25, 2011.

1. WildBillHicks

WildBillHicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 25, 2011
    Durham, North Carolina
    I have some hens at my mom's house. This morning I was up there with my step father. We were sitting there watching the birds and chatting when all of a sudden the hens froze, cocked their heads a bit and started humming. We figured they saw something but we couldn't see anything near us. The sound they made was weird but I'm new to chickens so that made it even weirder. Not sure calling it a hum is the right word. Y'all know what I'm talking about? Anyway, the dog barked and we saw a hawk fly off behind us. The hawk was about 100-125 yards away up in a tree so I guess that's what the hens saw. Once the hawk flew away they stopped that humming. It was a pretty neat thing to see.

p.s. The run is covered with wire so no fear of the hawk getting to the birds.

2. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    [​IMG]
    My birds make all kinds of different noises. Some hum and some squawk, clucking, some growl among other sounds. Once in awhile I hear a new sound and realize that one of the birds is making it.

3. Chick1043

Chick1043 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 5, 2011
    Idaho
    My soon to be hen always growls!! Especially when shes upset about something!

4. ninabeast

ninabeast Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2011
    Upstate New York
    Yes, mine have sort of a sustained hummy growl when they're suspicious of something, usually accompanied by the sideways stink eye. And I am almost positive they swear at me sometimes...

5. Okie Amazon

Okie Amazon Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2011
    Midwest City
    I have heard m ine "purr" with pleasure when dust/sun bathing!

6. Frenchchickens123

Frenchchickens123 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 25, 2010