Hens Pecking me!!! OUCH!!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Roy Rooster, Sep 15, 2011.

1. Roy Rooster

Roy Rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Hi All, [​IMG]

I am new to chickens, I am currently raising my first flock.

I have 13 BO hens and 2 Roos. They are 20 weeks old.

Lately when I go out to the coop to spend time with the chickens I have
    noticed a few of the hens pecking me. They peck my legs and when I am holding
    one of them a few of the others really start pecking. Does any one know why
    they are showing this kind of behavior?

An interesting side note: My rooster do not peck me at all. In fact when I hold
    them the hens really get upset and start pecking my legs. Funny I thought that
    most of the problems would come from my roosters.

Any info and or opinions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks BYCers.

2. Buff Hooligans

Buff Hooligans Scrambled

Jun 11, 2007
    When chickens are young, they haven't learned what's edible or not. They are also very visually oriented. They react to whatever they see. So they are basically testing out EVERYthing they haven't seen before to see if it's worth trying to eat.

In a few months, I don't think they'll peck as much.

3. colebarnhart

colebarnhart Chillin' With My Peeps

They just want attention and are jealous when you hold the rooster and not them. At 5 months old, they know what is edible or not, but can't really pat you on the shoulder with a wing, so they peck instead.

4. terrilhb

terrilhb Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2010
    Georgia
    I have a hen that pecks me if I show attention to anyone but her. This includes other chickens, guinea's or my goats. [​IMG]

5. NovaAman

NovaAman Overrun With Chickens

nah... that aint it... its like that movie where that meteor crashed and oozed that yucky green gunk into the water supply and the whole town went nuts, but it started with the chickens... See any meteors lately?