Hens refuse to lay!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Ldgreene9, Dec 8, 2014.

1. Ldgreene9

Ldgreene9 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 30, 2014
    Cameron, Tx
    Hi everyone, this is my first post on a thread since I have just become a member recently. I have many hens that will not lay. I have 8 golden sex link hens,5 rhode island red hens, and a couple other good laying hens all equaling up to around 20 hens. I have lights running 24/7, they have laying nests and box's, laying pellets, clean water, and feed all day. I have just recently all moved them into a big open enclosed area and am not sure if the stress of just being moved into that area is causing them not to lay. I have only have one hen that is laying an egg a day. It is a little white egg and I can never figure out what has laid it because she never sits on it. I am fairly new to raising birds. If anyone could help me out a little bit on this, I would really appreciate it!

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Lights can't be on 24/7. Just like all earthbound animals, they need hemeral lighting, a daily light and dark period.
    24/7 lights will make them crazy, stressed and could actually cause the lack of eggs.

A hen that isn't broody won't sit on an egg once it is laid.

The move is stressful, further delaying egg laying.
    The white egg is from one of the "other good laying hens", possibly leghorn.

Kill the lights. After they get used to normal day/night periods, you can slowly increase the day length to about 14 hours over the course of a couple weeks.

More info for you
    http://www.thepoultrysite.com/articles/450/several-reasons-why-your-hens-may-stop-laying-eggs

Last edited: Dec 8, 2014
  3. Ldgreene9

Nov 30, 2014
    Cameron, Tx