Hens sharing chicks?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by scoopy82, Dec 22, 2010.

1. scoopy82

scoopy82 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 19, 2010
    Victoria - Australia!
    Hi [​IMG]
    I have 2 hens currently sitting on eggs that are due to hatch on the 21st. One hen started off with a dozen, then the other hen decided to share and slowly they have dwindled down to 5 eggs, 4 of which i am confident contain viable chicks. My question is - if only one or two eggs end up hatching, am i better of separating the hens and letting one hen do the mothering, or let them both decide whats best? I think that the reason the egg numbers have reduced is because in the midst of the 'sharing' some may have accidently been squashed. They are not nasty to each other and happily share the nest after a little wiggling to find a comfy spot, but I'm wondering what will happen once the chicks arrive?
    What do you think?
    PS> I'm a complete novice so want any chicks that hatch to have the best chance!
    Thanks [​IMG]

2. Chickie15

Chickie15 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 4, 2010
    Pennsylvania
    We had 2 hens go broody a few days apart, so they just sat on the nest together. We only had 1 hatch but they were both 1st time mothers.

3. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    The correct answer is, there is no answer, depends on the individual. But you ARE seeing good early signs they will work well together.

I used to have 3 Kraeinkoppes, a breed known for broodiness and mothering. One hatched some chicks then was a great mother til she got killed. Another then took over the mothering duties -- then she got killed. Sure enough, the third one then raised the babies the rest of the way. They didn't share the hatching duties, but all 3 hung around the babies, like a mama and 2 aunties. And I've read similar stories on here, as well as stories of a couple raising a group of chicks together.