1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hens with chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by terris1959, May 17, 2008.

1. terris1959

terris1959 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 5, 2007
    Lima ohio
    I've been raising chickens for several years now but this is the first time that I have had hens sitting on eggs so I have a couple questions I was wondering if you all could help me with.
    I have 3 hens sitting on eggs , should the roosters in those pens with the hens be removed before the eggs hatch or is it okay to leave them togather? And if they must be seperated could I put all three hens and their chicks into a pen togather or will the hens attack the chicks that don't belong to them?
    terri

2. terris1959

terris1959 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 5, 2007
    Lima ohio
    anyone?

3. Tikkajazz94

Tikkajazz94 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sorry that Im new to this also,
    I started last year with My first own flock and it turned out bad so I ordered some more this year and hopefully this turns out good, (Need to pass a 7 months)

I talked to my brother about this (He raised his own flock), He said Keep the rooster in,
    Like in the wild the rooster stays with the hen so why should do it now,
    Im tiring to be nice,

How long has the hens laying on the eggs for?
    How many eggs are the laying on?

Hopefully it turns out good,

4. barbara4rb

barbara4rb Out Of The Brooder

Oct 22, 2007
    Albuquerque, NM
    Last year, we had two hens sitting in a storeroom. One was in the corner and one in a box. When the hen hatched out her chicks in the box, we set up a nest for her/chicks in the other corner of the room(~12x12'). Had the door shut to keep cats out.