Herbs for Hens

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by LadyVictorian, Dec 22, 2016.

1. LadyVictorian

LadyVictorian Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 22, 2016
    Minnesota
    Haven't gotten my chickens yet but looking at getting chicks at about February/March BUT I am already starting to plant my seeds for herbs in the pots and I was wondering what are goof herbs for chickens to eat and that they really enjoy and also about what age can you start feeding herbs and adding them into their feed? I already got parsley and basil seeds put in the pots last night and am looking through what other herbs I can set aside from a chicken garden.

2. perchie.girl

perchie.girl Desert Dweller Premium Member

Take a look at the poisonous plant section first and by elmination you will find what you CAN plant. As far as which are beneficial I am not an expert on herbs.

I do know that Kale is an excellent plant to plant next to the run for self serve treats. Its hearty enough to withstand chickony attentions.... LOL.

Some people plant wheat grass in trays covered in plastic wire mesh... as the grass grows up the chickens prune it off. The wire mesh keeps them from digging up the grass completely.

here are some threads on the subject
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/627282/comprehensive-list-of-poisonous-plants-and-trees

actually there are several below that one
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/newsearch?search=poisonous+plant+list

here is one on herbs looks to be well researched but I would verify as well....
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/372896/by-request-the-ethno-botanical-thread

Research research research.... you will find varying points of view that may or may not be correct or reasonable....

For instance the "apple seeds are poisonous".... statement while is true its only true if they eat about a cup full in one setting.