Herbs & treats for chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by MollyMalone, Mar 2, 2017.

1. MollyMalone

MollyMalone Out Of The Brooder

Feb 19, 2017
    Upstate NY
    Hi everyone!
    I am a newbie to the world of chickens and got my first chicks a couple of days ago. I have read that if you give unmediated organic chick starter (as I am) it can be helpful to supplement the chicks diet with the following:
    Apple cider vinegar in their water with a touch of honey or sugar
    Nettle tea
    Mashed egg
    Various chopped herbs.
    And as a treat: crushed dried mealworms (with grit)
    I've been giving the chicks all of the above and they appear to be thriving but I'm still a bit nervous :/
    Anyone out there who adds theses things to their chicks diet?
    Any / all advice appreciated!!

2. ImportTheBest

ImportTheBest Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2012
    Lex, KY
    I don't have a lot of info for you, but I'm learning a lot more about natural chicken care as i wait for my babies to arrive. Lisa Steele of Fresh Eggs Daily recommends these in her new Gardening with Chickens book for healthy baby chicks: basil, cilantro, dandelion, oregano, and tarragon. Chemical free, of course. Oregano being #1 in her opinion, which matches all I've learned so far.

Also I'll be doing the ACV in water, boiled/ scrambled eggs, a patch of grass and dirt from the garden complete with natural bugs, and whatever else I've forgotten, lol! :p

3. MollyMalone

MollyMalone Out Of The Brooder

Feb 19, 2017
    Upstate NY
    Lisa Steele must have been one of the people I read :)
    The chicks LOVE the ACV and the herbs! I tried some plain yoghurt but there's been no interest in that at all. I did add probiotic powder yesterday (would have from day one but couldn't get it). We are on day 5 now and all butts are spotlessly clean and all chicks seem very healthy.