Here to Learn More!

artsychica

Hatching
Jun 17, 2017
(1) I am new to chickens. Our family has been thinking about adding a few to our family for some time now. We're beginning the research process to learn about what's all involved.

(2) No chicken yet but we're thinking about having four or so.

(3) Still researching breeds. Hoping to find ones that are good with children.

(4) Google search

(5) Hiking, gardening, Art, graphic design

(6) We have four boys and a cat in the family. We recently moved into a house with a one acre lot. We're excited to finally have the space to contemplate adding some chickens into the mix!

Browse through these: COOPS
to get some ideas.
Building one is 1000 times better than anything you will find in a store/online.
(they usually recommend that it houses a certain number of chickens....always decided that recommended number by at least 2..and that is what it will really hold/house)

Secure coop and covered run are essential in areas with high predator populations. Sadly everything loves chicken, and not in a good way. Electric fencing is a very good way to convince predators to move on to another chicken coop.

Thank you! We don't have a coop yet. Planned on learning more first. This site looks like a wonderful resource. :) I appreciate the links!

Welcome Artsy.
Buff Orpingtons are a great dual-purpose breed that are docile and good with children. My niece and nephew below would agree.
IMG_20170415_101316679.jpg

Great picture!! I'll definitely look more into those. I also have concerns that we live in a very "nature friendly" neighborhood. We have everything from Coyotes to foxes in our back yard. Are there some tips and tricks for making sure that our girls stay safe?