Here's what I have...what roos and hens would you suggest breeding???

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Keri78, Oct 18, 2009.

1. Keri78

Keri78 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 17, 2009
    NJ
    Ok...I'm still a Newbie to the chicken world...but have to admit that I Love my chicks!!!
    My goal is to have several different colored frizzles and to sell their fertilized eggs. I want to have four seperate chicken tractor coops set up in my backyard and just rotate letting one flock out to free range a day and then once they a locked back up then the next day allowing the next flock to free range and so on. I will have four pens each with one roo and a few hens.

Here's what I have...tell me what you would do:
    One black smooth cochin roo
    Two black frizzle cochin girls...ok this seems like a no brainer of course these will stay together to keep the black coloring true.

One Buff Frizzle Roo
    One Red smooth Roo
    One white Frizzle Roo

4 Buff Orpington girls(I was thinking of putting my buff frizzle roo in with these girls and have frizzle orpies!!!thought it might be fun? not sure what the market might be?)

One white smooth cochin girl(thought of putting her with my white friz. roo)
    One silverlaced smooth cochin girl(thought of putting her with my white frizzle roo)

One Grey/Blue smooth cochin girl(should I put her with my white friz roo or buff friz. roo???)

One Red Smooth Cochin girl(which roo should she be with?)

Should I forego the friz orpi experiment and stick with just keeping the cochins together or would people be intrigued by frizzle orpies???

I NEED your wisdom and experience here...help a NEWBIE OUT!!!(lol)

Blessings & thanks so much, Keri

2. KinderKorner

KinderKorner Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    Put all the blacks and blue together.

Keep the whites together.

Go ahead and put the buff rooster and buff orps together.

And put the reds together.