Hey All

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mahan5175, Jul 28, 2014.

1. Mahan5175

Mahan5175 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 28, 2014
    Hi, I am new to being an owner of chicks and new to this website. I have 12 chickens that are 7 weeks old. 5 hens and 7 roosters, at least that is what I am told, and from research thats what it looks like. We have mix of 1 buff orp, 3 golden laced wyandotts and rest are barred rocks. We have them out in the coop now, and every night I usually have to run out and get them in the coop because they don't want to go in. Do they eventually just go in? or will they be like this for awhile?

Thanks and so excited to be on this journey!

2. TaraBellaBirds

TaraBellaBirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 13, 2013
    SW Kansas
    The best thing to do is to leave them in the coop for at least a few days. This gives them time to get comfortable and to imprint it as a safe place to roost. 7 weeks is a bit young to be going in on their own at this point though. Make sure that they have a low roost that is wide enough and easy to get to. Good luck

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Welcome to BYC. You need to lock them in the coop for 2 or 3 days so they realize the coop is their home. After that when you let them back out in the run they should return to the coop at dusk. This usually works well. Let us know if it doesn't.

4. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you decided to join our flock. Raising chickens is exciting, isn't it? TaraBellsBirds has given you some good advice. Your chicks do need to imprint your coop as their home and a safe place to roost. Feel free to ask any more questions you may have and we will try to answer them. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck imprinting your coop as home for your flock.

5. Mahan5175

Jul 28, 2014