Hey Chicken Lovers - I'm new here and new to keeping chickens

mcivor88

Hatching
5 Years
Sep 19, 2014
Hey guys

I'm new to this whole thing. Learning as I go but enjoying it. I've wanted to keep chickens for a long time.

We purchased a small a coop from eBay so get us started and 4 brown hens shortly after. My father calls them Rhode Island Reds (Is this correct?)

The coop is basic and small but maybe we'll change it if we get a good deal on a classified ad in the future. Actually the day after we purchased this coop from ebay I found the perfect deal on Gumtree for decent sized coop and 10 hens for half the price we'd already spent lol oh well

In the next few weeks I plan to extend then run to at least double the size of it.

I'd like to get some really friendly hens that like being handled and petted, can anyone recommend and breads that fit those requirements and are available in Ireland?

Pictures and video of my set-up so far

0.jpg

Hello there and welcome to BYC!
frow.gif

What a cute little set up! Enjoy this new adventure you are on and welcome to our flock!

The rule of thumb is 4 sg.feet per bird in the coop and 10 sg.feet per bird in the outdoor run. I'm sorry I never assimilated the metric system. Do you have any major predators to be concerned with in Ireland.? I think Cochins would be a good breed for you. I think in the Uk they are called Pekings. I could be wrong. Welcome to the flock, glad you joined us.

Welcome to BYC! I'm not sure what's available in Ireland, but my ISA browns are my sweetest! I've also heard that buff orpingtons are quite nice and good with kids!

Hey and welcome I have just got chickens in this last few weeks I got Sussex a lovely friendly bird was petting them and eating out of my hand in matter of days I am in ni