Hey guys, I have some young birds and a few questions for you all!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chris Herzog, Oct 17, 2011.

1. Chris Herzog

Chris Herzog Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    Covington
    Hey guys,
    Ok, so I’m new to owning chickens and although I have been coming on here often as a guest I just registered to become a member. Even though I have just joined, I wanted everyone to know that I have learned a ton of stuff from just surfing around on here and reading some of the post. I’m sure that I have read about this at some point but I just can’t remember the answers, so I do have a couple of questions for you all if you don't mind.

Right now I have 21 hens and 2 roosters. 1 Rooster is 21 weeks old, the other rooster and 15 hens are all 13 weeks old. The remaining 6 hens are all 4 weeks old. The 2 roosters and 15 older hens are all together in the coop and doing fine. I have a run with-in the run that I put the 6 younger hens in from time to time to let them get some fresh air and also to let them be around the other chickens. I’m wondering at what age should I let the younger hens get to be before I put them all together in the coop and not have to worry about their safety. Room for them is not a problem; I just want to avoid if at all possible the older animals beating up on the younger ones.

My next question has to do with feed. Right now everyone is eating medicated starter feed. In three weeks or so I believe I’m supposed to take the older birds off the medicated starter feed and put them on a layer feed. Would it hurt to keep the older birds on the medicated starter feed an additional month (so 5-months total instead of 4) then switch everyone over to a layer feed at the same time. This would mean that my younger birds would switch to a layer feed early after only 3 months of being on the medicated starter feed, providing that all of the birds are together at this point. Let me know what you think!