Hey Y’all

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by FeatheredDinos, Nov 20, 2019.

1. FeatheredDinos

FeatheredDinos In the Brooder

Nov 20, 2019
    1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

I am NEW to having a chicken “flock.” I had one chicken - a white Polish for a few years whom I adored. I learned how smart chickens were from having her. Last January - I got my first “flock” of chickens.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now? Let’s see... I have 13 from original flock, 7 chicks they hatched out, 3 chicks I hatched in incubator and 10 new chicks... uh ... 33 chickens

(3) What breeds do you have?
    I have Sultans, Polish; White Crested Black Polish and Gold Laced Polish, Brahma Bantam; Light and Buff, Silkies; White, Red and Black - Frizzles; White, Red and Black and Mille Fleur D’Uccles

(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens? I love their personalities, and I love that they are always working - whether laying eggs or catching insects and pests

(5) What are some of your other hobbies? I write and I read a lot. I love working outside with all my birds- ducks and geese. I am a handy woman - always working on a new project to beautify or improve our farm.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share. My husband and I have been married for 22 years, we have Great Pyrs to guard our flocks, several cats who are always hunting for mice and moles along with 31 ducks and 3 geese who grace the ponds on our property with their beauty and charm.

We have 2 children and 8 grandchildren whom we adore.

(7) Bonus: How did you find BYC, how long have you known about BYC, and what made you finally join our awesome community?

I’ve been getting advice from BYC for years now. BYC is my go-to website for any bird question I might have. I love y’all and everything y’all do.

Mom of 33 Feathered Dinosaurs ❤️