Hey you guys :D

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by bantambec, Aug 19, 2014.

1. bantambec

bantambec New Egg

Aug 19, 2014
    Initially just to introduce myself really;
    I am a mature Veterinary Nursing Student in the UK and I love all things chicken. I had them when I was very young but we moved from the area and were not allowed to take them with us. Now, as an adult I have only recently managed to get meself some after life took charge! I look forward to reading the forum and getting to know a few characters :)

My inital concern is with a new hatchling, 24h old. From reading the forum I learnt that the yolk sac had not been absorbed and so the chick has an external 'umbillicus scab'. It had come loose and yolk oozed as well as a stringy bloody mucoid section. Now that has come away but I'm sure part of the intestine is popping through (looks the same as mammalian intestine). Is this the end for him as am concerned re;strangulation.

I would appreciate any advice you could offer and hope to return the favour.

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Hope you find this site as friendly and use full as I have. There is a emergencies injury and disease section in the forum I'm sure if you post on there some one will be able to offer you advice [

1 person likes this.
  3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
  4. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi two crows please could you advise on how to add links to posts please?

Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  5. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop