1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hi All, excited newbie here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by erinangele, Jul 2, 2011.

1. erinangele

erinangele Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2011
    Hi Everyone! We are a typical suburban family of 5, myself, husband, 3 year old son, 8 year old chihuahua, and 17 year old lab mix.

Last month, late at night, after watching a documentary on how our food is raised/grown, my husband said, "Let's get our own chickens." I'm not really sure what came over me, as i am normally hesitant about adding pet's to our household, but i agreed without giving it a second thought. That very night i started researching, and within a week we had ordered 4 chicks from MPC, 1 RIR, 1 Delaware, 1 Speckled Susex, and 1 Easter Egger (they will arrive around July 11th). I can't remember the last time i was so excited about something [​IMG]

I have spent hours researching everything and anything chicken related. My husband is building the coop with a run, and we will let them free range during the day. Most of our garden is already mature, but i do have some areas near their coop where i will be planting some chicken friendly plants. I ordered, "The Chicken Health Handbook" (although i pray i wont have to use it!), and my friend is lending me her brooder. Now all we need are the fuzzybutts!

I do have a question about some of the plants already in my yard, so i'm off to find where to post that question! Looking forward to pecking your brains [​IMG]

2. Wisher1000

Wisher1000 Bama Biddy

Hello, and [​IMG]

You have found the best source of help, information and fellowship on the web. This is the best source for all things chicken! Anything you need to know...just ask! Oh and by the way, don't peck my brain, please! [​IMG]

3. Kitt