hi all iam new here

mrflames

Hatching
12 Years
Mar 24, 2007
hi my name is anthony.
we are looking to start raising are own chickens for eggs. the problem is i dont know very much at all about this. so this look like a good site to start out at. we live in peck ks just outside of wichita. we have a few horses a dog an a rabbit. for forgive me if i ask some dum ?.
i have always like the big brown eggs they seam to taste better. i was wondering what kind of chickens best produce these eggs.
i was alos wondering if a old dog run would make a good places to keep the chickens. we where just wanting to get three are four birds

any help would be great

thanks anthony

Hi Anthony.
I live in KS too. Just got my chicks yesterday. I'm no expert, but I'll share what I learned. I would start at your local farm supply store. I'm sure you have an Orscheln's or something similar near you. From the research I did, it seems like really anything you can by locally will do well in KS. New Hampshire Reds will lay nice brown eggs, as will Rhode Island Reds. Black Australorps are hardy and will lay brown eggs. I also picked up some Buff Orpingtons (brown eggs), Black Sex Links (brown eggs), and Ameraucaunas - which lay a bluish-green egg.

Chicks need some pretty intesive care for the first couple months. I don't know about how your dog run will work as a yard. I don't have my yard fenced in yet. I would guess that if it keeps out predators and they have a safe place to roost at night it would be OK.

Have fun with your new adventure. I would advise you to go to your local farm supply store and ask lots of questions. They were very helpful when I was there!

Simple Chick