Hi! Everyone !! Newbie here.. Be gentle LOL :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Morris Acres, Aug 12, 2013.

1. Morris Acres

Morris Acres Out Of The Brooder

Aug 12, 2013
    Michigan
    Hello everyone!
    Just want to introduce myself.. I'm Billie :). I'm from a small country community in Attica, Michigan.
    I raise chickens.. I wouldn't consider myself an expert on them..I'm an amateur.
    after not having them for quite a few years.( afraid to have them.. our neighbors dogs killed our last two attempt to raise them :( ).... Last year we finally ordered some babies.
    I had ordered 25 Rainbow egg layers but unfortunately 4 had perished. And one morning last year.. I went to get something out of my car. And i heard a crow. And thought to myself.. you have GOT TO BE KIDDING ME! yep wouldnt you now it a rooster!! in the bunch.. But its not your average typical rooster! This thing is HUGE!! lol
    I have never seen a chicken this big in my life after it was finally full grown.!
    and unfortunately with a pick mix. I didn't have a clue wha s some of the breeds were. After google search
    after google search looking up colors and etc on the chickens i have. I figured out some LOL.
    After searching I believe my Rooster and 1 Hen are Light Brahma. They are both big birds.
    I have a few RIR and Barred Rocks and we have about 15 Silver Spangled Hamburg. And I'm thinking a Black Star.
    I also just started a little Button Quail hobby. I had bought a lot off ebay! 40 button quail eggs.with 10 extra the seller shipped.and when i received them i let them rest and put them in my Hova-bator July 24th. And starting August 9.. they started hatching. OMG they are so tiny! lol
    So after all said and done...
    50 quail eggs
    4 were cracked when i received them ( but they sent extras so its ok)
    11 were not fertile
    17 started growing but stopped ( it happens as we all know)
    And we ended up with 18 babies