Hi everyone! We are total newbies in the chicken world lol

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by RobinsHens, Jul 26, 2014.

1. RobinsHens

RobinsHens Hatching

Jul 26, 2014
    My husband and I bought a double wide mobile home on three acres in NC recently. Our neighbors have chickens and I love them but now they keep them home because we have planted a large garden and they are being good neighbors. I want to get our own chickens this fall around November when my son is going to visit us to build a new chicken coop. One is on the property but is old and has a zillion holes. We are reading all the information on here that we can so we can be good chicken parents. Can anyone tell us whether November is a doable to start new chicks and also what happens in January when it gets cold (goes down to 20 during January and February). How can we keep the chickens warm enough even when they are adults? I like the speckled black and white chickens. They are beautiful!

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Crowing

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you decided to join our flock. Feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. November is a tough month to start new chicks in because you will have to keep them in some type of heated facility until they are fully feathered. Once they are fully feathered and have attained near adult size, they will be able to handle your 20 F temperatures as long as their coop is dry and draft free. Hope this helps. Good luck with your flock.

3. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons

Apr 23, 2014
    Colorado
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.