1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hi everyone

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by SCmama, Sep 30, 2011.

1. SCmama

SCmama Out Of The Brooder

Sep 30, 2011
    Hey everyone, I'm a newbie! We got our chickies about 6 weeks ago. We have 1 Plymouth Rock, 2 blue laced wynadottes, (4 mos old) a silkie, and one I'm not sure what it is! We just got the silkie and the other one yesterday when we traded our Americana rooster. We just found out he was a rooster, and since we're in a neighborhood, we can't have him. So we took him to the farm, and traded him for 2 hens. The lady said she's either a Rhode Island Red, or a red star. The red one, Lucy, and Silkie, Snowball, are about 7 mos old. We're excited about our little chickies, and have come to this site looking for tips and tricks so everyone's successful!

I had a question though, since our original chickens aren't laying yet. Lucy laid an egg this morning, but she was on the roost when she did and the egg cracked open, We have 2 nesting boxes in the coop, and have put a gold ball in one, like we read about to help the hens know where to lay. Apparently that didn't help. Any suggestions on getting her to lay in the Box and not off of the roost?

2. SilkieBantams

SilkieBantams Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2011
    Houston, TX
    [​IMG] from Texas

3. CrestedGirl

CrestedGirl Polish Obsessed

Mar 7, 2011
    Fort Worth, Tx
    [​IMG] & [​IMG] from North Texas [​IMG] Glad you joined us [​IMG]

4. kidcody

kidcody Overrun With Chickens

[​IMG] [​IMG] from WA. glad you joined us [​IMG] [​IMG]

5. t/m

t/m Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 21, 2011
    Smith Mountain Lake, VA