Hi everyone!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JKNATX, Aug 13, 2014.

1. JKNATX

JKNATX New Egg

Aug 3, 2014
    Texas Hill Country
    I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Josh and I'm new to the BYC forums. My wife and I have visited the BYC website in the past for ideas on coops and other info about various breeds and have found a ton of great info, so we thought we would set up a user account.

We have a small mixed flock and plan on expanding. Our flock consists of: Three Americaunas; two hens, Mary & Connie, and one roo, Jerry. Two RIR hens, Edie & Yogi. Three Silkies; two hens, Sugar & Spice, and one roo, Suki. We also have two Rio Grande turkeys; one tom, Tom, and one hen, Jane. All very sweet birds that love to keep us entertained.

I just completed the majority of the work on our large coop. Still have trim to put up, gutters, and a run for when we're not here, we can keep them in it for protection. They go in and out of their coop during the day to eat, drink and sleep even though there is plenty of food, water, and places to perch around the house. They all file in their coop at 8:00 and all I have to do is go out at about 8:15 and lock everything up. I let them out at 6:45 every morning after inspecting the area for raccoons and other predators. Very smart birds, not to mention addictive! We want more! :)

We look forward to meeting you guys, reading your stories and swapping ideas and are excited to join BYC!

~Josh

2. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.

I love your flock names! Sounds like you are enjoying them!

Good luck with your remaining projects. Feel free to ask questions.

Glad you joined!

3. mspenny

mspenny Out Of The Brooder

Aug 13, 2014