Hi everyone!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by georgejlee, Jan 2, 2015.

1. georgejlee

georgejlee Out Of The Brooder

Jan 2, 2015
    San Mateo, CA
    I've lurked for a while on these forums and have been learning a lot about raising chickens. I've had chickens in my backyard in San Mateo, CA for over three year now. I began by free-ranging some White Leghorns and Rhode Island Reds in the backyard, but after a while got tired of constantly cleaning up the mess. Also I wanted to plant vegetables without having chickens scratch them all up! Now I have a nice enclosed run for them, and am on my third generation of chickens. Most recently I discovered that one of my golden sex linked "hens" was actually a rooster when it started crowing! I don't know how that happened, I thought sex linked chicks
    were easier to sex...

I work as a software engineer, specializing in data analysis. I spent five years at Twitter and over two at Google, and recently I've been spending more time thinking about how to use my skills to help backyard and urban farmers. I believe that promoting small local agriculture is essential to fix the problems with our food system. After reading several forum posts on chicken management software I was inspired to create something better than what's out there today. If this is something that interests you as well, please contact me or take a look at my web site in my profile and give me your feedback. Thanks!

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana