Hi from Alberta heres my story!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by New Hatcher, Jul 25, 2010.

1. New Hatcher

New Hatcher Out Of The Brooder

Jul 21, 2010
    Central Alberta Canada
    Hi all![​IMG] My name doesn't lie I'm new to hatching out eggs in the incubator but not really to chickens. We started out with 4 hand me down chickens 3 mix banty hens and a banty rooster. Sadly we had to do a lot of learning from them and now only have the rooster left. We then got 25 Red Rock Cross hens, the next year we bought 25 Red Sussex cross the following year 25 Rhode Island Reds. We did very well losing few and using the eggs to sell to raise money for our kids. So all them chickens cost us money but we like them. My Son was then given 1 white silkie rooster and 2 black silkie hens. I think that opened the gates for me because I didn't really have much to do with them until then. We now have an incubator ( in lockdown with 2 pipped eggs on day 19) I set 14 silkie eggs and 28 mix ( from said hen breeds, and said rooster, and an Ameraucanas rooster) I have now re-done my horse barn to house chickens and hove scoured the net finding info on breeds, how to get what colored eggs anything I can. I drive my family nuts with chicken info and now know more than my grandma about chickens [​IMG] I have fallen in love with the Marans breed and hope to have some eggs in my hands by next week:fl I have even dragged my cousin in and she loves the Easter Eggers. So I now have a dozen of those as well. The only reason I'm up late and writing this much in a welcome post is because as I said before I have 2 piped eggs in my very first hatch!! I may be posting a lot to night and maybe make up MY PAGE while I wait for the little fuzz butts to come out! I hope to works!![​IMG] So welcome to all those new with me I have already learned a lot from all the posts and this is my go too for info!![​IMG] My Grandma is a little disappointed I'v found another resource though, but now