Hi from blustery Alberta Canada

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Purple_grape84, Jan 19, 2019.

1. Purple_grape84

Purple_grape84 Songster

Jan 19, 2019
    Lamont, AB, Canada
    There is such a fierce wind storm outside today, throwing snow around into drift and making black ice on the roads, I have time to actually do an introduction.

Hi, My name is Kasandra and I am from near Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. It has been -20C (-4F), but feels like -30C (-22F) with the wind. This is my first year with my own farm, though I grew up on a goat farm in BC, which is a much milder climate. I took possession of my new 8 acre farm mid Dec, 2018, so have only been in place a little over a month.

I didn't wast any time getting started. There was a barn and 6 small out buildings on the property, along with a 40x60 quonset. The barn allowed me to get some new zealand cross rabbits and chickens right off the bat.

The Chickens I started off with are a Cochin Rooster, 2 medium brown Brahmas and a young roo (they were all about 5 months I think). This past weekend, from the same farm I got those chickens, I just got 2 silkie hens and a rooster.

My wish is to start an Angora goat farm and produce luxury wool for the everyday knitter and spinner. But, for now I am starting with seedlings in the spring, which I will sell at farmers markets at the beginning of the planting season, and chickens. I hope to get some geese to hatch in the spring to be guard animals.

Confession: I have already hatched 9/12 eggs in my home made incubator, made out of a styrofoam cooler and I just built a new incubator and have 3.5 doz eggs in. My old incubator has 10 Guinea fowl, 5 muscovy ducks and 2 geese eggs. I don't know how well they will all do together, but the experiment continues.

Okay, that's enough for now.

Talk to you soon.

Attached Files:

fldiver97, ronott1, sourland and 19 others like this.
  2. KLIL

KLIL Crossing the Road

Jul 4, 2018
    Queensland, Australia