1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hi! from Colorado

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by colorado1, Apr 2, 2016.

1. colorado1

colorado1 New Egg

Apr 2, 2016
    I am new to raising poultry. I have had problems with nutrition with my birds. I have been researching and starting to use different feed and mixing for my needs. I feed a commercial feed (starter-grower) and I have been getting curled or rounded wings on my young turkeys. I have been trying to go more organic. During the winter and early spring I add a combination of rabbit pellets ( approximately 1 cup to 3 cups of starter-grower) and sunflower seeds without the shell ( approximately 2 cups sun flower to 3 cups starter-grower feed). I am still getting the curled feathers. Does this mean I am giving to much protein or still not enough? I am thinking it could be mineral related but not sure. Does anyone have suggestions of what is going on with my turkeys or please tell me what you did to cure the problem with your turkeys. Look forward to hear from everyone.

2. chicken19

chicken19 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2015
    Riding my horse
    My Coop
    Hi!! Welcome to BYC!

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Flock Master Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Please post in detail - photos would be great at the "Turkey thread," . I don't know turkeys but, wonder if this is an inherited problem.

4. colorado1

colorado1 New Egg

Apr 2, 2016
    Thank you for welcoming to the forum.