1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hi from Fresno!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by anthrogirl, Sep 11, 2016.

1. anthrogirl

anthrogirl Out Of The Brooder

Sep 11, 2016
    Fresno CA
    Hi y'all! I'm relatively new to chickens, My family and I just had our first chicks hatch (so wonderful, yet so nerve-wracking!)

We had our 3 chickens for a while and sadly one of them died of heatstroke during our 110 degree heatwave this summer (it lasted a whole week!) So we installed a new water mister system, gave them some ice bottles and then set out to get a new chicken to keep our other chickens (a sweet buff orpington called 'Goldie' and a spirited Silver Laced Wyandotte (sp?) named Tamaka) company.

When we went to pick up our new girl (Olive, a shy black Jersey Giant) the owner offered us a dozen possibly fertilized eggs (she only had 2 rooster and roughtly 60 hens) for our broody Buff Orpington Goldie to sit on, and we figured it was worth a try.

We weren't to optimistic that they would hatch and didn't try to candle until day 14 when we were thrilled to see that 2 of the eggs had chicks in them! after that I ended up furiously researching chick hatching (we knew almost nothing about it)

18 days later we were shocked to find one of them hatching early (or maybe on time, they were supposedly laid on the same day, but the owner might have been mistaken) we named it 'Pip'

2 days later we figured we were only going to have one chick, then Shelly surprised us all by pipping and then waiting an agonizing 24 hours to hatch (much frantic googling of hatching times took place...)

Pip is now 5 days old and Shelly is 2 days old, they get along great and Goldie seems to be an excellent chicken mama!