1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HI from Lancashire, North West England

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by wolfpup, Mar 24, 2013.

1. wolfpup

wolfpup Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2013
    Hi folks,

First of all, I know a 'wolf' seems a bit daft for an avatar and username bearing in mind the forum - but its the username I use on other forums.

I am brand new to chicken keeping - my girls arrived yesterday! They are four ex-battery hens. However these are fully feathered and have been looked after by the rescuers for about 2 months where they have had time to rehabilitate to life outside the cages and/or 'barn', gain strength and re-grow their feathers. They are approximately 18 months to 2 years old. They have already provided me with 4 eggs - but the shells are pitifully thin at the moment - two eggs were cracked yesterday - but the two eggs I got this morning were whole. I will soon sort the thin shells out - not worried about that. Also the yolks are very pale - hoping the good quality pellets will sort that out - but would be grateful for suggestions please.

I found this site on a search for tutorials and information on chicken welfare

As for other animals, I have two rescued cats and a rescue collie/lab cross and a rescue Utonagon (anyone seeing a trend here)?

I am a retired IT lecturer (female) and am interested in growing my own vegetables, well as far as I can in my small garden - mostly container growing as I am on the coast and have no 'soil' - its salty clay - we are approximately 10ft under sea level - which is only a 5 min walk away.

Hope that is enough of an intro - but if you want to know anything else - I am an open book

see you on the forum

Wolfie

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011