Hi from northeast Texas

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hungry, Mar 8, 2013.

1. hungry

hungry Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2013
    Grayson County, Texas
    Hi everyone!

Let's see... I have read one book on chickens, and a bunch of web pages, but have never owned one/am a total noob.

Years ago I lived in a house that had a chicken coop (made from a camper shell) in the yard, but I never got any chickens. Then I moved into an apartment near Dallas and chickens were quite far from my mind. In February I moved into a very old house about 13 miles from Sherman and Denison in Grayson county. It's "in town" (half a mile from city hall) in a town of under 1400 people...and behind my back yard there's a fenced .5 acre yard with some "agricultural" buildings including a chicken coop and fenced run of maybe 10'x45'. The coop needs some work but nowadays I'm a bit more into self-sufficiency and natural foods so the idea of raising chickens, rabbits, or the like is very interesting. It has me thinking. Not sure i'll actually take the plunge, and if I do I'm not sure I'll reuse any of what's already on the property, but it's very tempting/intriguing.

My main concerns are workload (I work a full time office job and the hours aren't always flexible) and the fact that I'm a total city boy by upbringing so it's a huge learning curve...which is what brings me here...learning. :)

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG]

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
  4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, hungry, and [​IMG]! Happy to have you aboard! I urge you to really consider taking up chicken keeping. You can learn what you need to learn here on BYC. With some proper planning and a secure coop and run, chickens really aren't that much work. Hope you take the plunge!!

5. dawg53