Hi from Southern California

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by EggedOn, Jul 20, 2011.

1. EggedOn

EggedOn New Egg

Jul 20, 2011
    I have 4 chickens, just got them from my niece about 2 months ago. Their friend was moving to the city and had to find homes for them. They are about a year old or so. I have a RIR, Dominique, Americauna and a mix of some sort. They all have different personalities and the pecking order is very noticeable. I have not tried to pick them up. 3 will come close to me, but scurry away if I reach out for them. I would like to try to tame them but don't know how exactly. I have trained dogs and horses, but I have had no bird experiences! I am enjoying this forum and am learning a lot. They came to me pretty dishelved and one nearly bald from their rooster picking on her. They have settled in nicely and their feathers are coming back in. I bought a coop and chainlink enclosure. When I am home, I turn them out on about 1/2 acre fenced. I got them for myself and my elderly mother to enjoy. I was going to wait for my retirement to do this, but I think we put off things too much sometimes.
    My vegetable garden is now producing and, with the eggs too, we feel downright self sufficient! Well, partially at least!
    Thanks for reading,
    R.

2. Oldfort_mailman

Oldfort_mailman "The Fortfather"

Jul 19, 2011
    cleveland tennessee