Hi from Spokane, WA

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dreamchaser77, Nov 3, 2011.

1. dreamchaser77

dreamchaser77 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 2, 2011
    Spokane
    So, we bought our first house this summer (yay!) and inherited two hens. After doing some research, I'm pretty sure one is a leghorn (wow, those are real?!) and the other is a Rhode Island red. We bought four baby Auracaunas in July, one died at the hands (or should I say jaws) of my black lab [​IMG] and we are still waiting for the other three to lay. I have been frequenting this forum as a lurker for the last several months, since I am a chicken newbie, and have found the answers to most of my questions (thanks everybody!!). I finally decided to join as I have questions, which I will kindly post in another forum. Thanks for the wealth of information that you guys have here, it's so much fun learning about my babies and how to take care of them.

Charity

Inland Northwest urban farmer in training [​IMG]

2. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

[​IMG]

Imp

3. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    [​IMG] Congrats on the girls.

Yep, Leghorns are real [​IMG] You might want to check to see if your Araucanas are though - Lots of people sell mutts labelled as Araucanas.

4. dreamchaser77

Nov 2, 2011
    Spokane
    Thanks for the welcome! I'm pretty sure they are Auracaunas. I got them from a local seed and feed store with a good reputation, plus I did some research and found the difference between Easter Egg hens and Auracaunas, mine have the muffs coming in and the flat combs (which I'm to understand is a pretty good indicator), plus the coloring seems to match Auracaunas.

5. Newwell

Newwell Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG] Welcome from Oregon!!! Glad you are here. Yeap, this place has LOTS of great advice.

6. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA