Hi from Upstate NY!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ChrisWhitcomb, Nov 12, 2019.

1. ChrisWhitcomb

ChrisWhitcomb In the Brooder

Nov 12, 2019
    Upstate NY
    I've been keeping chickens for just over 5 years now. I was excited when I first got day old chicks in the mail. I had all my supplies and a newly built shed/coop. I had done research on what to expect and enjoyed them as they grew and started laying eggs.

Over the years, I've lost some and got more. I found out chickens lay more than just white and brown eggs so I got some easter eggers for blue/green eggs.

I've had a few roos, one mean one and my current one is a sweetheart. He growls at me which I think it cute.

It's been enjoyable keeping chickens, but it is difficult at times.

I've been enjoying this website for information and entertainment for many years. Unfortunately, I have decided to let go of the chickens I have left. I is a difficult decision, but it is for the best.

I may decide in the future to have chickens again. It is nice to know there is such a wonderful support group here.

2. FortCluck

FortCluck Free Ranging

Sep 9, 2019
    Central Virginia
  3. N F C

N F C thankful

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    :welcome

It's hard to give up a flock, but everyone has to do what is best for themselves. There are quite a few members here on BYC that no longer have chickens so stick with us and continue to enjoy the birds vicariously!

4. BullChick

BullChick Enslaved by a Duckling

Apr 17, 2012
    Coffee shop
    Well, we do welcome you, and hope to encourage your chicken math again in the future. We will also do our best to convince you that you need quail (eggs taste like chicken’s), ducks, turkeys, goats...
    For real, look up Coturnix quail. They are so tiny, you can have a few in a birdcage (or small animal cage) in the house.

5. FortCluck

FortCluck Free Ranging

Sep 9, 2019
    Central Virginia