Hi I am new.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Momof12chickens, Dec 28, 2014.

1. Momof12chickens

Momof12chickens Out Of The Brooder

Dec 5, 2014
    I am new at this but my chicken was covered in blood and she looked like
    She had what they say an egg stuck in her. I put her in water and tried to
    See if she had eggs in her I don't feel any. She lays egg like once every
    Two weeks because they are bigger then the jumbo eggs you get in store.
    Can't fit them in a egg carton. Please help me.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2014
  2. Bloveschickens

Bloveschickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2014
    My Coop
  3. Momof12chickens

Dec 5, 2014
    Thanks Bloveschickens. I have tried to do every thing that it says to do for her. I think
    It is prolapsed vent. She lays bigger eggs then jumbo. The one she layed today was smaller.
    And it was all bloody. That is how I know something was wrong. She looks like she has a big
    Budge under her vent. Looks like she has skin that has gone one each side of it. I will let you
    Know what happens. I hope we can take care of it. She is my sweet girl. Thank you. [​IMG]

4. Bloveschickens

Bloveschickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2014
    My Coop
    If she has a prolapse vent you need to separate her from your flock so they will not peck at her, which could cause death. The chicken chick also has a great article on prolapse vent:

http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/04/prolapse-vent-causes-treatment-graphic.html

Make sure to read the part about treatment. If I were you I would treat her as the chicken chick suggests in her article.

I do have one question: She is NOT egg bound right? Or does she have a prolapse vent and is also egg bound?

I wish you the best!

5. Momof12chickens

Dec 5, 2014
    Hi Bloveschickens.
    Sorry I did not update you on my girl but she passed last night. Then today I went to chicken coop and have