Hi I am very new to this board...and have tons of questions about

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Starla, Sep 16, 2009.

1. Starla

Starla Out Of The Brooder

Aug 20, 2009
    incubating eggs.

Someone gave me an incubator without directions. I have never done this before and would love to hatch some of my houdan eggs!

Can someone help me?

it is a hova-bator and I think it is really old. it has a fan and a turner in it.

I turned it on the see if everything worked, and it does. It has been on and set at 99 for the past few hours. I have taken my eggs out of the frig. and they are now at room temp.

What do I do next??? does it matter which way I put the eggs in? like, pointy side down or up?

Sorry for so many questions...but I have no clue what I am doing!!!

Thanks!

2. KDbeads

KDbeads Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 20, 2009
    East Central VA
  3. Starla

Aug 20, 2009
    the eggs are from my chickens and someone told me to store them in the frig until I was ready to put them in the incubator...I only have two hens and had to wait a few days before I had a few.

Thanks for telling my point end down!

anything else I should know?

I saw in the bottom of the incubator, there was two places for water. I only put water in one of them is that right? and does it matter which one I put it in?

4. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    You're doing great so far! [​IMG]

Before you put the eggs in: What kind of thermometer are you using? What about a hygrometer? These are important because if your measuring instruments are wrong, your incubator conditions will be wrong. And many thermos and hygros *are* wrong, especially those cheap little alcohol dealies that come with the incubator.