Hi! I'm Monica

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MonicaN, Nov 23, 2013.

1. MonicaN

MonicaN New Egg

Nov 20, 2013
    Central NC
    Hi there!

I'm Monica and I am new to Backyard Chickens! My husband and I plan to purchase a few chickens within the next few months and are in the midst of learning about how to care for chickens. Both of us are "newbies" at this, and want to try and get through January before purchasing a few hens.

~~(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

Yes, we are new to chickens- and no, we haven't got our first chickens yet- but they will be coming soon! Currently, I/we would like to do some reading up on them (so we can be the best chicken owners out there), so if you have any suggestions as to books to read that would be great. :) Also, any suggestions as to what types of breeds are more tolerant with kids would be great!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

None. See Question #1.

(3) What breeds do you have?

None at the moment. We have a few friends that have chickens and are trying to determine what kind of breed we would like to have. We live in Central NC, and so we have the 4 seasons. We need a chicken who can tolerate mild winters and hot, humid summers.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

Google search on best websites for backyard chickens.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?

Gardening, going to the beach, spending time with my family, and shopping!

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.

My husband and I have two little kids (3 and 1), two very sweet dogs, and that's all. I teach elementary education (I'm a teacher) in NC.

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture