Hi, I'm new at this chicken stuff lol

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Krglidden, Nov 7, 2014.

1. Krglidden

Krglidden New Egg

Sep 6, 2014
    Hello all,

First thank you for taking the time to read this. My name is Kristin and I've recently acquired a chicken. I have no clue what kind she is. She Is the lone survivor of a flock that was destroyed because she has never payed an egg. That doesn't matter to me if she ever does or doesn't.

My question(s) is/are.... She comes into my house at night. She is just like another member of my family. She does go into a VERY large crate at night. It's becoming winter and she doesn't want to go out for long periods of time. She can roam inside (need a diaper! Lol) she's extremely picky when it comes to eating. She will eat cracked corn, bread, grapes, raisins, cherrios, bird seed, sunflower seeds, dry and wet cat food and worms. That's it.....picky picky

Is this ok for her to only eat for 5 months of winter? I'm willing to buy worms to sustain her but I am not sure what kind of worms or if this is even necessary.

And help/advice and as much as possibly would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you and I look forward to exploring this site more

Kristin

2. Krglidden

Krglidden New Egg

Sep 6, 2014
    The entire flck was destroyed because none layed eggs. I grabbed her in time..... So layed not payed lol

3. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.