Hi! I'm NEW HERE AND new to raising chickens too!!!!!! :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TLady, Apr 4, 2012.

1. TLady

TLady New Egg

Apr 4, 2012
    HI everyone! I'm new here & am new at raising chickens! (A city girl removed to the country!) We haven't even bought them yet! My hubby is making the coop! We've seen LOTS of SUPER coops here on this site & have gotten some ideas! I'm wanting to get some Araucana "Easter Egg Chickens," just for their WONDERFUL eggs! We're also wanting some chickens for meat! Anyone have any idea as to what kind would be good to go with these? I would LOVE to have something that is a little more colorful than these & a beautiful rooster, but the gorgeous egg colors have won! We live where there is ALOT of wildlife, but would like chickens that are friendly also! Who wants to get chased/ (&/or is it "flogged") by a chicken? :) My hubby(a country guy) knows some about chickens, but I am TOTALLY new to this! Thanks for your help!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Welcome to BYC.

3. dreamer5577

dreamer5577 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2011
    Pennsylvania
    Hi & Welcome!!!
    [​IMG]

4. greymane

greymane Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2011
    Snyder County, PA
    [​IMG]

5. weimarmama

weimarmama Overrun With Chickens

Jun 4, 2010
    Alabama
    My Coop
    [​IMG] & [​IMG] from Alabama. Glad you joined us.

6. The Red Rooster

The Red Rooster Poultry Observer

[​IMG]

7. ChickenMan77

ChickenMan77 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 7, 2012