hi I'm new to having chickens but I need some advice

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by destinyschild75, Mar 13, 2016.

1. destinyschild75

destinyschild75 New Egg

Mar 13, 2016
    I have an almost 2 year old rooster and he got attached by a opossum and it ate most of his comb and now he won't eat and he sticks his head in as much water as possible to get some water I killed the opossum but I don't know how it got in his coop at night but it did please help me he's my baby and don't want to lose him

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] If it only damaged his comb, he should be able to eat or drink. Are you sure that his beak is not injured?

3. destinyschild75

destinyschild75 New Egg

Mar 13, 2016
    It could be injured but he want let get near him at all now before he would get in my lap and sit for long periods of time

4. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    You can try providing moistened mash in a deep dish, but if his upper beak has been broken or removed he may not be able to eat.

5. destinyschild75

destinyschild75 New Egg

Mar 13, 2016
    Thank you I will try everything he's our baby and I don't want to lose him

6. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

7. destinyschild75

destinyschild75 New Egg

Mar 13, 2016