Hi I'm new to the site AND to chicken-raising!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by yesfantina, Apr 16, 2011.

1. yesfantina

yesfantina Out Of The Brooder

Apr 16, 2011
    Hi - I'm Tina - from a rural part of New Jersey - and I'm new here. I've done some reading and searching of posts and finally registered today, so I guess I should introduce myself:

Starting with the 'template' -

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    yes, I am new to chickens. We've talked for years about getting them, but for some reason decided to finally stop talking about it and to DO something about it.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    Well.. I just ordered from mypetchicken.com - 2 red star hens and 3 assorted feather legged bantoms. Our baby chick delivery week is May 2nd.

(3) What breeds do you have?
    see #2

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
    I bought Raising Chickens for Dummys a couple weeks ago. And from googling

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
    I love boardgames - specifically the (mostly) German designer games, like Settlers of Catan, Puerto Rico, etc..
    I enjoy my vegetable garden. Gardened regularly for about 10 years, then didn't for a number of years - just started again last year.
    I love progressive rock music. Old school Yes(yesfantina), Genesis.. newer band like Porcupine Tree, Flower Kings. Love concerts.
    I love my kids :) Tho they're older teens and into their 20s now, my girls home and busy keeping us all on our toes w/ drama.
    I enjoy cooking and finding and trying new - sometimes vegetarian recipes.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.