1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hi, im new to this whole chicken thing lol . . .

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Cage, May 15, 2011.

1. Cage

Cage Out Of The Brooder

May 15, 2011
    Hello everyone, this is my first post on here. . . i know kind of long, but bare with me. Theres a pretty decent story behind me taking up chickens haha

So basically, I was driving down a street following a pickup truck with the tail gate open. He kinda went off into the grassy shoulder of the road and a dog crate fell out the back. I probably came about a foot withing running it over. I swerved and missed it, and actually spun around backwards once i came to a stop lol

Anyway, thinking it was puppies or a dog that fell out the back. . I walk up to the crate and this is what i find minus the water and feeder that i immediately went and bought for them.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Being this was probably the first time i ever seen a live chicken lol. . . I drove out to a farmer's place that breeds chickens and he told me they were Road Island Reds, and looked to be 2-3 weeks old. And he is 100% positive they are all hens.

Now, im not the type of person to have something like this happen, then pass off to another person to exhume responsibility, so i figured ill just keep them, get me some eggs and i guess process them when their good and ready. . and who knows, maybe ill get more afterwards.

Anywho, so far the chicks seem happy and healthy. I feed them the stuff with antibiotics in it (forgive me, cant think of the exact name off the top of my head) and guessing they are just over a month old, i can hopefully start them on regular feed in another 2 weeks.