Hi I'm new! Wondering if it's ok to clean up coops because I'm pregnant!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by brielin024, Jan 24, 2017.

1. brielin024

brielin024 Just Hatched

Jan 23, 2017
    I'm pretty new to owning chickens. We have 11 mixed breed chicken/roosters and 5 guinea fowl. I have two coops
    I cleaned one the other day and the smell was super strong and when I started removing layers of straw it had such a strong ammonia smell I felt like it might not be ok for me to be in there being pregnant. I put on my husband's respirator mask and finished the job but the other coop needs it too and I'm just looking for reassurance from any chicken moms with experience.
    I don't want to do anything unhealthy fir my baby and my husband said he'd do it but that hasn't happened and it's getting stinkyer by the day :/

2. birdwrangler057

birdwrangler057 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2016
    South Carolina
    Hello, and [​IMG] glad you joined our fun group of fowl folks.

The baby is always important! I've never heard of any birth defects caused by ammonia, but I would go ahead and take the precautions. Ammonia can't really do any harm to the skin, but I would wear a mask anyways. Good luck with your baby!

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, brielin024, and [​IMG]! Great to have you aboard! I sure don't know the correct answer to your question, but it appears others have asked it in the past. Here are a couple old links where it is discussed:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...coop-laying-and-chicken-chores-while-pregnant
    and https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/210995/okay-to-keep-chickens-while-pregnant
    I think erring on the side of caution would be the wise thing - dust masks, etc. Just my two cents. Best wishes and thanks for joining BYC and good luck with your pregnancy!

2 people like this.
  4. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member