Hi, my name is Melissa. I'm from Robertson NSW Australia :D

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hendrix, Sep 28, 2010.

1. hendrix

hendrix New Egg

Sep 25, 2010
    G'day! I am new to the world of chooks. But i have to say, it's really exciting!! I have only had chickens for the last 3 days, and already they are showing their own little characters LOL I have four Austrolops (sorry if i've mis spelled), im guessing that Austrolops are all black? Anyway, i named my girls - Aretha, Diana, Beyonce and Whitney [​IMG]. Their first day in their new home they already laid four eggs. I'm very proud of my girls x

So, i have a few questions to ask. I hope this is the right place to ask them :Z LOL

I've hung the waterer up off the ground to stop my mess makers from scratching the sugar cane into the water trough. Its lower than the chickens heads but i have'nt seen them drink from it yet. I'm sure they are drinking when i'm not looking but i thought i'd see if i've done something wrong.

Next question, my neighbour has several worm farms. She brought over a hand full of worms today and the girls went berzerk for them! How often can i give the girls worms and how much?

I'm sure that i'll have loads more questions as i go along. Thank you for reading this and i'd appreciate any feedback [​IMG]

Cheers,
    Melissa x

2. xxSonja

xxSonja Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2009
    Australia
    Hi and welcome from northern NSW! Congratulations on your new chooks!
    You'll find heaps of great info here. And lots of people are willing to help with all your questions.
    So getting to the point..
    I keep my feed and water containers up off the ground, at about the height of my smallest hens back, it keeps it from being messed and spilled. So yes, its a good idea.