1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HI!!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by krazykat0373, Oct 4, 2012.

1. krazykat0373

krazykat0373 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 2, 2012
    Southeast Oklahoma
    I am new to BYC and have learned a lot, and seen a bunch of interesting posts in the few days I have been coming to the site.[​IMG]

My name is Kat. I am a mother of 5, a grandmother of 2 and have been happily married to DH for 21 years. We moved to southeast Oklahoma from Ocala, FL in 2005 and would never dream of leaving.
    Last year I went in with a friend of mine and bought some royal palms from a hatchery. I kept 6 of them and out of those I had only one hen survive. After she was a good size, we just let her free range 24/7 with her roosting on the window A/C at night. She turned out to be quite the pet, coming in the shop with DH and supervising the repairs on our vehicles, sitting on his lap when he would take a break. I think hubby has a girlfriend. LOL. Anyways, around Feb. she came up missing, and we figured maybe something got her. One day hubby walked out to our totally empty coop (never went there cause we had no birds other than Phyllis and she stayed around the house) well, there she was, in a plastic barrel that had been cut in half, setting on 25 eggs!!! I was amazed, and felt bad for her, knowing she had laid all those eggs and was setting for nothing cause without a tom, I knew the eggs weren't fertile. So I called up my friend and asked if she would sell me some of her turkey eggs, well to make a long story a little shorter....