Hi!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Sandywitch, Oct 29, 2013.

1. Sandywitch

Sandywitch Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 29, 2013
    I'm another newbie here. I'm thinking about starting to raise chickens. I'd only want to start with two. Hubby is about to retire in a month or two and will move back up here to Horse Cave, KY. I'm living on the edge of town now, but we also have 22 acres of woods only a mile from here. We plan to eventually build a house there. We already have a large metal barn, and we're still in the process of putting up a greenhouse (slowly on weekends). Our son and grandson are living on that property now in my large camper. I know hubby would want to build a hen house rather than buying one ready-made.

Back to me. I'm 65 and partially (but permanently) handicapped. I can stand and walk, but not for long because of damaged nerves in my lower back and legs. I would love to have just a few chickens, at least to begin with. My son recently captured four little pigs. He opened the gate to the garden and they wondered in. He then shut the gate! I won't even go look at them because I know I would name them all and the guys plan to feed them for a year and then...............BACON! Hence why I only want two hens for eggs. Any more than that and they might end up in the frying/roasting pan. I'd rather have friendly chickens that are good egg layers and pets as well. I need to learn everything about raising chickens. I gathered a few eggs as a child with my aunt, and I've also been inside a commercial chicken house, which is CRUEL! I don't know if I should start with chickens here in town and then move them to the woods when I do, or what. I know there are lots of racoons, possums, snakes, and maybe some coyotes and other creatures in our woods. I'd need a really secure hen house and roofed run in the woods and I'd have to drive back and forth twice a day, so I suppose I'll just wait and learn all I can about them now.

[​IMG]