Hi!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rosie1991, Dec 11, 2014.

1. rosie1991

rosie1991 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 11, 2014
    Hi ya'll, I am a new member from Hull,Tx and I was given 4 hens and 2 roosters on thanksgiving day. They are 6 months old and we are trying to get a coop and run built for them any suggestions on how big the coop needs to be?? We want to make it to where we can move it around... Thanks :)

2. Ashley Stroud

Ashley Stroud Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 2, 2014
    Hello and welcome to the flock!
    I'm still a chicken newb, but everyone here is very helpful and full of great ideas along the way! The Learning Center has been great in guiding me along my own chicken keeping adventure, as has the Where am I, Where are You? forums. There you can find folks in your geographical area for even more specific advice.

Congrats on your new flock and keep us posted! I love to see chicken pics!

3. rosie1991

Dec 11, 2014
    Thanks for the advise and I will :)

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Congrats on your new flock! First, you have too many roosters for your hens. These two will mate these 4 hens to death. The proper ratio of rooster to hen is about 8 to 10 hens. So you will need to either rehome one of these roosters and get more hens, you can rehome both of them as you don't need roosters unless you want fertile eggs, or you will need to keep these boys in their own bachelor quarters.

4 to 5 square feet per bird in the coop and 10 square feet per bird in the run.

Have you stopped by our learning center yet? Lots of good articles on all the aspects of keeping poultry...https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Enjoy your new flock and we do welcome you to our flock!

5. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana