Hiding and protecting eggs as a pecking order thing?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by simply blessed, Dec 4, 2014.

1. simply blessed

simply blessed Out Of The Brooder

Nov 20, 2014
    Colorado
    So I'm new to chickens, lots of other birds, but chickens only the last seven months...I have 5 Black Stars who have been laying about the past 2 months. We switched to a larger coop / run 2 months ago and the pecking order switched with #2 and #1 switching places. My #1 hen has been becoming less social with me since. All the rest beg for pets and will eat out of my hand. Forty (my number #1 hen named by a three year old), will get as high as she can when I enter the run and stare at me. She resists any contact, and occasionally pecks at me but does not (at least yet) break the skin. (I saw in another post about tapping them with a finger back so I've been doing that.) When I open the coop to clean or collect eggs, she jumps up and hurries to about a foot from me. At first I thought she was bragging about her egg, but now she seems to be trying to keep me away from all the eggs placing herself between me and the egg. (Only one hen actually lays in the nestbox, and it isn't her so every day reminds me of Easter egg hunts!) Today, her egg was buried in the pine shavings in the usual spot for her. At first I thought she was just curious, but she seems to grow bolder each day. Could she be trying to top me in the pecking order? I have small children so I can't have an aggressive hen. Is there something I should be doing to nip this in the bud? Sorry for the long post, but I don't know what is relevant to the situation. Might just have an eccentric bird!

2. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Sometimes in an all female flock, one of the birds will assume the 'rooster role' and defend the flock.