Hmmm, questions about Playhouse coop design and french drain!!?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Wink, Aug 25, 2010.

1. Wink

Wink Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 24, 2010
    Texas
    I'm conducting the prep work for our spring coop....so yes, I'm completely new at this...

I'm interested in the Playhouse coop design. I've read about other people incorporating a french drain.....since the majority of the coop (the run area) will be in predominantly in the wooded area behind our house, we were thinking about using hardware cloth on the whole floor of the run (prevent digging predators, etc). I just want to clarify: gravel first, hardware cloth, weed cloth, then sand on top? How much sand? I don't want them to be raking their feet across the wire....

Secondly, if the whole coop is enclosed in hardware cloth, do I really need to lock them up at night within the coop itself? Or can they use their run at night if they choose to?

I'll have more questions as time progresses.... thanks!

2. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    I'd figure 3 inches of sand at a minimum. Don't forget to put a board at least this wide on the side of the run to contain the sand or it will just seep out through the hardware cloth. The other way to approach digging predators, of course, is to build and apron/skirt of wire flat on the ground outwards from the perimeter of the run. That way you don't have to dig or otherwise mess with the surface inside the run (just put down your sand). That's the method I use because we have clay soil and digging in it is an awful chore.

Chickens generally like to roost someplace up high at night, so unless you have roosts in the run I don't think they will want to hang out there after dark. Some people like to leave the pop door open so they don't have to go and let the chickens out early in the morning.