Homemade Feed - What are you using and percentage?

Bladester

Chirping
Aug 7, 2022
South Eastern Pennsylvania
Hi All:

I am new to homesteading but I have spent a good amount of time researching so I can make my own feed for my ladies. Is anyone doing the same? If so, what are your mixes with feed type, weight an/ or percentage to the total.

FeedCalculated Protein %
50 lbs Cracked Corn
50 x 0.094.50
10 lbs Split Pea
10 x 0.252.50
20 lbs Black Oil Sunflower
20 x 0.265.20
10 lbs Wheat - Soft WHITE
10 x 0.121.2
20 lbs Soy Bean
20 x 0.4659.3

Cheers!

Hi All:

I am new to homesteading but I have spent a good amount of time researching so I can make my own feed for my ladies. Is anyone doing the same? If so, what are your mixes with feed type, weight an/ or percentage to the total.

FeedCalculated Protein %
50 lbs Cracked Corn
50 x 0.094.50
10 lbs Split Pea
10 x 0.252.50
20 lbs Black Oil Sunflower
20 x 0.265.20
10 lbs Wheat - Soft WHITE
10 x 0.121.2
20 lbs Soy Bean
20 x 0.4659.3

Cheers!
I recommend you keep researching. Protein isn't your only concern in making a feed.

Your raw protein numbers, which are "generous" (Feedipedia.org puts your final numbers closer to 18.25%, before correcting for moisture content, which would lower it further), particularly if you are using fresh hulled soybeans

Your costs, which will vastly exceed any off the shelf commercial feed of similar ingredients (20# of shelled soybeans??? bulk package that $5/lb alone and very high moisture).

Same sources also calculate your fat content (before moisture correction) at 14.75%, The target fat % is around 3.5%. Your ingredients list is a recipe for on average shorter life and losses due to higher incidence of fatty liver hemorrhagic and a host of related maladies.

Nor have you begun to deal with vitamin and mineral needs, calcium, phosphorus, etc.